and Board

Leadership and board


BioPhero was founded by Dr. Irina Borodina as a technology spin-out from the Technical University of Denmark in 2016. The purpose was to commercialize novel technology for production of pheromones.

BioPhero is located in Østerbro, Copenhagen (Denmark).





Dr. Irina Borodina, Founder and CTO

Irina Borodina holds a Ph.D. in Biotechnology from the Technical University of Denmark.

Irina is an entrepreneur and scientist and has extensive experience in the development of yeast-based fermentation platforms. Irina founded BioPhero in 2016 based on the results achieved with yeast-based pheromone production. She also leads a research group at the Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Bio sustainability .

Mr. Kristian Ebbensgaard CEO

Kristian Ebbensgaard holds an M.Sc. Econ. from Copenhagen Business School.

Kristian has experience in the fields of business management and new business development, and has lived and worked in Denmark, France, Switzerland, and India. He has experience with commercial management and business development of global biotechnology markets in several different industries including food, beverage alcohol, and pulp & paper. Before becoming CEO of BioPhero, Kristian spent a decade at Novozymes

Board of Directors

Mr. Hadyn Parry


Hadyn Parry is an experienced executive from the biotechnology, life science, and agro-chemical industries.

He has experience with building new companies from his time as CEO of Oxitec –the world's first company to use genetically engineered male insects to combat mosquitoes that spread damaging diseases (such as Dengue Fever and Zika virus) and major pests of agricultural crops.

Dr. John Hamer

Board Member, DCVC Bio

John is a Managing Partner at DCVC Bio. Prior to joining DCVC, John was a VP at Monsanto and Managing Director of Monsanto Growth Ventures (MGV). Before joining MGV, John was a Managing Director at Burrill & Company. Prior to his career in venture capital, John was an entrepreneur, initially at Paradigm Genetics, where he joined as a visiting scientist before becoming Chief Science Officer and eventually President and CEO following the company’s IPO. After Paradigm, John founded and served as CEO of Arête Therapeutics, which earned backing from leading life science venture firms.

Dr. Michael Lee

Board Member, Syngenta Group Ventures

Michael Lee holds a B.Sc. in Zoology and a Ph.D. in insect biochemistry from the University of Durham.

Michael joined Syngenta Group Ventures in 2013, and spent several years at Unilever’s corporate venturing group based in the US and UK investing in early stage companies. Michael is a Fellow of the Royal Entomological Society and has published several scientific papers about insects.

Dr. Thomas Grotkjær

Board Member, Novo Seeds

Thomas holds an MSc in chemical engineering and a PhD in metabolic engineering and bioinformatics from the Technical University of Denmark.

Thomas joined Novo Seeds in 2017 focusing on investments in industrial biotechnology. Thomas has business and R&D experience from Novozymes, Fluxome, Carlsberg, and BASF.

Advisory Board

Charlotte Vedel

Area of expertise: Intellectual property COO and co-founder of biotech startup Lactobio Previously: VP IP and IP Strategy at DuPont

David Scott

Area of expertise: Strategy and Business of the agro-chemical industry 40 years of experience from Syngenta companies

Jesper Haugaard

Area of expertise: Large-scale industrial fermentation and processes Vice President, EMA Operations, Novozymes